German SUP Flatwater Championship Berlin by Deutscher Kanu Verband 2015

30.07.2015 14:17

1st place Long Distance and 2nd place sprints

 

This event drew a lot of public attention by the visitors who attended the "Tegeler Hafenfest" and the television and press media.

In the female sprint competition on Saturday I easily made it to the finals. After a rather good start another girl bumped into the stern of my board and I unfortunately lost balance for a moment so I lost my inside position at the first buoy. As the legs between the race marks were rather short it was hard to pass and it took me to the second last mark until I found a gap. Unfortunately a little bit too late, even though I was able to catch up onto the tail of the leading girl and finished 2nd (made up about 50 meters…). I was really happy, that I used my 12´6´´ Javelin  LE on this tight sprint course (in the up to 14´ fleet).

On the next day I promised to turn my frustration from the day before into good propelling power for the long distance ( 8 km).

For the first part of the course I controlled the toughest competition (Carol Scheunemann- 4th Lost Mills) and waited for my chance to get away. After the wind picked up a lot (stormy and rainy conditions),  I started my grinding upwind setting my pace to leave the girls behind and catching up on the paddlers of the mens fleet who had started 2 min ahead of us. So it turned out that I finished 2 minutes ahead of Carol Scheunemann on my 14´ x 23´´Javelin LE. What a satisfaction :-)

My 14 years old brother Maui won the first ever held German Youth Championship of the sprint event in convincing manner and made it onto the first page of the Sunday edition "Berliner Morgenpost" (250.000 readers…).