Camp David SUP World Cup Fehmarn 2014

22.07.2014 14:52

3rd place in the Sprints

On Day 1 I was in the Charity relay with Germanys famous Hollywood actor Götz Otto and two other guys. It was great to introduce them into SUP racing. We were a great team and had lots of fun on the Naish ONE, although we weren´t the fastest team.

Day 2: Sprints - In choppy, windy conditions I felt super comfortable on my Naish Javelin LE 12´6´´ x 24´´. After three Sprints and three 3rd places I´m pretty stoked to finish 3rd in the sprints!

Day 3: Long Distance Race of the CAMP DAVID SUP World Cup we started in Staberdorf with a 1k sidewind leg out,

then turning into an awesome 4k downwinder towards the event site. Arriving there on 3rd place we had to turn around 

and fight upwind against 25knts wind! This 2.5k triangle we had to round two times. After the first brutal upwind leg and the shorter sidewind leg I couldn´t recover enough on the downwind course to do this a second time. So I had to quit after 7.5k (still in a comfortable 3rd position)…

Thanks to ACT AGENCY, in particular Matthias Neumann, Camp David & the other event sponsors and the Watermanleague for making this terrific event happen! Also thanks to my sponsors Naish Stand Up PaddlingNaish Germany, Maui Ultra Fins, 2XU, Prolimit and to my parents for always supporting me! Congrats to my Naish teammates Kai Lenny, Casper Steinfath and Carla Schellart.

 

For small video clips of this actionpacked weekend of racing, please visit www.watermanleague.com 

There was also a nice report in the German television:  www.ndr.de/fernsehen/sendungen/schleswig-holstein_magazin/Worldcup-der-Standup-Paddler,shmag29028.html