Battle Of The Coast Zandvoort/Netherlands 2015

02.06.2015 11:26

Well deserved event title considering the challenging conditions with up to over-head high beachbreak and stormy winds. Everybody of the more than 40 competitors had a hard time getting out onto the two lap respectively three lap (men) in-and-out beachrace course on Saturday. It also took me an aweful lot of time until I got started and pick up my own race more against the elements rather then the female competition. At least I was able to finally manage the course, having fun surfing in to the shore, and taking 3rd place.

For the downwind on Sunday the conditions were less brutal and the wind ideal for the parallel to the shore line race course… First our boards were transported 7k upwinds on the beach and then the competitors were picked up by the same truck and brought to the starting site which was big fun:

This time it was a lot easier to take off from the beach and get out through the shore break…

…after a short straight out leg the fleet turned downwind heading for the downwind mark close to the finish on the beach and the real fun started:

After 43minutes I also finished 3rd in this race and secured the 3rd position overall.

Stoked to mention that also my brother Maui and my dad (11th overall men) competed, completed the course making this a family fun weekend.

Lots of credit for the organizers and "The Spot" event location who were perfect hosts of this great SUP event. This was one of the nicest events I competed at and I´m looking forward to the next year… Mahalo and Aloha, Noelani

DEUTSCHER BERICHT: Recap-GER.pdf (33353)